Jewish Learning

Fellowship

The Jewish Learning Fellowship (JLF) is a 10-week experiential, conversational seminar for students looking to deepen their understanding of Judaism on their own terms. We’re interested in asking big questions. You know, the big stuff — like Who am I? What communities am I a part of? What is worth committing myself to, and why? And we don’t purport to have any of the big answers.

We're proud to say that we make no claims about the “right” way to practice or not to practice Judaism. Our job is to help you explore the tradition in a safe space and find your own place, on your terms, in Judaism’s Great Conversation.

 

At JLF, we'll invite you to coffee, spend a Shabbat together, and help you feel connected to next steps and alumni offerings after JLF ends. Fellows can earn a  scholarship at the end of the program.

 

Applications for the fall 2020 cohort of JLF are now closed. If you would like additional information on JLF, or are interested in joining a future cohort, please contact Nicole Vitt.

Jewish Learning Fellowship FAQs

How is JLF different from other programs?

JLF is run by Hillel International’s Office of Innovation, in partnership with local campuses like UF Hillel. Our educators bring to bear a wide variety of Jewish backgrounds, experiences, and philosophies. Some of them are rabbis. We are also a pluralistic, non-denominational project. We do not believe there is “one right way to be Jewish.”

What do you actually do in JLF? 

A 10-week immersive experience that explores life's big questions, such as how honest do I have to be in a friendship? How do I explore intimacy in college? Is there a way to disagree productively? How do I make time for balancing work and my own rest? And many more. This program is an opportunity to learn a little, meet new friends, and explore Jewish community on our campus.

When does JLF meet?

We'll meet once a week during the fall semester for ten weeks. Three days and time will be available. Please pick the day and time that works best for your schedule. The three options will be Monday 5:00pm-6:00pm, Tuesday 3:30pm-4:30pm, or Thursday 6:00pm-7:00pm.

 

Monday, September 21 

Tuesday, September 29

Monday, October 5

Monday, October 12 

Monday, October 19

Monday, October 26

Monday, November 2

Monday, November 9

Monday, November 16

Monday, November 30

Tuesday, September 22

Tuesday, September 29

Tuesday, October 6

Tuesday, October 13 

Tuesday, October 20

Tuesday, October 27

Tuesday, November 3

Tuesday, November 10

Tuesday, November 17

Tuesday, December 1 

 

Thursday, September 24

Thursday, October 1 

Thursday, October 8

Thursday, October 15 

Thursday, October 22 

Thursday, October 29

Thursday, November 5

Thursday, November 12

Thursday, November 19

Thursday, December 3

What do I have to do to earn the scholarship?

To receive the scholarship you must (1) Attend all ten sessions on time and attentively, and (2) Participate in a JLF Shabbat evening experience.

Who is eligible to apply for the fellowship?

JLF is open to students currently enrolled as undergraduate at UF. While JLF is a program rooted in Jewish study and in Jewish community, we do not discriminate based on race, ethnicity, religion, or sexual orientation.

Do I need a certain Jewish background to participate?

No, no background is necessary. JLF is open to students from a wide variety of Jewish backgrounds, expressions, and experiences!

What is the time commitment?

JLF meets once a week, for 10 weeks. Each session is 60 minutes and length. Additionally, to make it worth your while, you should know that Fellows earn a  scholarship at the end of the semester.

How many fellows are there?

Each seminar will have 20-25 fellows.

Can I do JLF virtually?

Yes! When you fill out the application please select if you would like to participate in JLF virtually or in person. 

What COVID-19 precautions will be in place?

The in person cohorts of JLF will be helped outside in keeping with UF Hillel Health and Safety Plan. Hillel will screen all participates upon arrival including a temperature check, require masks, and enforce physical distancing at all time. 

How do I apply?

Applications for the fall 2020 cohort of JLF are now closed. If you would like additional information on JLF, or are interested in joining a future cohort, please contact Nicole Vitt.

UF Hillel

Norman H. Lipoff Hall / 2020 W University Ave / Gainesville, FL 32603

Info@UFHillel.org / 352.372.2900

With funding support from

Copyright UF Hillel 2020